Home > 10 Great Seconds, Movies > 10 Great Seconds – The door handle

10 Great Seconds – The door handle

October 25, 2011

All right, I’m gonna come right out and admit to loving the movie “Bridges of Madison County.”

For those of you who might have read the book, or like me, read three pages and realized that this book was not written for you because… I’m really searching for the words, here… I don’t want to say “not a woman” or any slightly more risque version of that, but it did seem to have a very specific target of housewives who want to be worshipped by some guy who they don’t have to settle down with… it was kinda like what I imagine “Twilight” is like, except more flowery and with sex, this movie is not like the book.

I assume the story is basically the same, but.. Clint Eastwood directed the movie. Dirty Harry directed “Bridges of Madison County.” And Siskel and Ebert gave it two thumbs up so I had to go, right? Me and what appeared to be every Senior Citizen in Anaheim Hills, California. It was the matinee.

And this scene made me cry like the little little girl I occasionally turn into.Toy Story 3, Spiderman 2 (I’ll get to that scene eventually…), Citizen Kane, when Emma (my daughter) was born.

If you haven’t seen the movie, this scene probably won’t do anything for you. But if you have seen it – it’s the door handle scene- you know what I’m talking about. If you haven’t seen it – do yourself a favor, go see it. Pretend that all the scenes in the present actually matter to the story (fast forward past them, if you want), but watch the Meryl Streep and Clint Eastwood stuff, cause it’s pretty awesome.

The setup: She’s been spending the week while her family is out of town with Clint Eastwood, the never-settled-down National Geographic traveling photographer, and they’ve fallen in love. It’s the end of the film, and he’s leaving town, and she’s not going with him. But then she sees him in town – he hasn’t left, yet, and he ends up getting his truck in front of hers (her husband is driving), sitting in front of the light, even after it turns green, getting out in the rain, and waiting for her to come to him. And she puts her hand on the door handle… and here’s the scene.

Again, you probably have to have seen the movie, but I have a thing about door handles ever since. Table at Luigi’s has a door handle scene in it and I to describe what I wanted to Mike, my DP, I just said “the Bridges of Madison County door handle” and he said “got it.”

