Home > 10 Great Seconds, Movies > 10 Great Seconds – The Chair

10 Great Seconds – The Chair

November 16, 2011

This is from Rocky Balboa – the last (so far…) Rocky film. This was a tough film. It was slow, not really great, but I still enjoyed it. I have a rule with movies, you can buy ten minutes of my time with a good moment, and this film is filled with good moments, about nine minutes apart. I just kept watching, even though in between the nine minutes not a lot was happening, because then another really cool thing would happen.

The scene is the strongest example of that, right at the beginning. The movie starts with Rocky at Adrian’s grave, which is not really an original idea for a scene. But then he gets up from his chair, and does this. This is why I kept watching this movie, because they kept doing stuff like this moment, that’s just clever and so… Rocky. Stuff like this is why I loved him in the first movie, and put up with all the sequels.

  1. Collin Buchanan
    November 30, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    In spite of its kagillion flaws (some seriously awkward direction going on), I still kind of liked this one. Maybe because there’s no talking robot or Tommy Morrison. Good pick for the 10 Great Seconds.

  2. December 1, 2011 at 9:47 am

    It is strangely charming – it’s just that character, I think. Rocky rocks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
