Home > JoeRants > The Wind Beneath my Mind

The Wind Beneath my Mind

December 30, 2011

I was just listening to Willie Nelson sing “You Were Always on my Mind.” Does anyone else think this is not a good song? I love me some Willie Nelson, but seriously – the point of that song seems to be I treated you like crap, but I was thinking of you while I did. Does that sound like a love song?

“The Wind Beneath my Wings” is the same thing for me – seriously, let me sing about how great I’ve become while pretending to sing about how much you helped me get there. Whenever I hear someone sing that song, I can’t stop thinking about how they obviously don’t get what they’re saying – “On my Mind” is only insensitive, but “Wind” is pure blind megalomania.

How do people listen to those songs with a straight face?

