Home > JoeRants > The Young Americans…

The Young Americans…

April 17, 2012

How to begin? So back in the 80’s and 90’s, I was a song-and-dance guy. I worked with a company named “The Young Americans.” If you don’t know who that is, you should substitute “Up With People” every time you read the name. We like to think we’re a little bit cooler than they are, but we’re probably not. The group’s done a lot over that last 50 years, and has become a touring force working in music education around the world.

Below is a video I made for the 50th Anniversary of the group this last weekend. Each of the decades from the last 50 years performed (yes, I was on stage for as little as I could get away with without my wife and friends making me feel bad), and this ended the section for the 90’s. We sang the song on stage, and people who couldn’t make it to the reunion joined us on video. Here’s the video:

It was an awesome weekend with a lot of wonderful friends, reminding me of how incredibly fortunate I am to know the people I know, and to love and be loved by them. It was overwhelming seeing so many incredible people from so many parts of my life all in one room.

The greatest moment was at the end of the show when Milton Anderson, the founder of the group 50 years ago spoke. He was introduced by his son saying “Our Father, Milton C. Anderson.” It’s a little crazy how true that statement is, for all 800 alumni in the audience. To see him speak about what his 50 year dream has meant to him, and that he can see it continue even after he won’t be around was both inspiring and sad – truly the definition of bittersweet. I’m tearing up at the keyboard thinking about it, but I’m a little girl when it comes to that kind of thing. :)

It really made me think about my legacy, as I imagine it did many of us. I’m truly fortunate to be working in the arts, and working with a new generation of filmmakers constantly. But there’s always that nagging “what else?” question. What more can I do? Milt influenced so many of us –  how do I pass it on? Am I the only person going into production on a feature film worrying that I’m not doing enough with my life. :)

But truly, what can any of us do to make sure that we’re giving to others the gifts that were give to us?

  1. April 17, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    Thank you Joe. You helped me be a part of it. My thoughts and love go to you, Kat and kids!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
