Home > Joe's Movies!, JoeRants > 62 Days until Production – Cast is Locked!

62 Days until Production – Cast is Locked!

April 30, 2012

We’ve finally locked our main cast for Sympathy Pains! We were all around Arkansas and Tennessee (and even Southern California) for the last two months, and found our final cast member just last week! We are EXTREMELY excited to announce our cast:

Playing Andrew, the slightly-sleazy comedy club owner is the not-sleazy-at-all Jim Harris. Jim played Zack in Table at Luigi’s, and his small role inspired the theme song for “Jump Up!” that was included as a special DVD feature on Luigi’s (you can also find it on the daringly Dull production website). We love Jim and I wrote The Proposal for him to star in last summer.

Jerk lead comic Hunter is played by the actually-quite-pleasant and definitely comic Michael “Doc” Davis. Doc’s a great comedian and fine actor in his own right and I’m really looking forward to working with him – this will be our first time working on film together, though I do get the pleasure of watching him host the Conway Children’s Advocacy Alliance Kidfest every year, and he’s awesome! His website is here, by the way – check him out!

Jan, best friend to the lead Stephanie, will be played (wonderfully, I’m certain) by F.E. Mosby, who you may also remember from Table at Luigi’s as Melanie. I still remember when F.E. came in to audition for Luigi’s and so completely knocked me out with her reading. I’d had a great actress for our stage version in California, and was worried about finding anyone who could replace her in my head. F.E. did that easily, and I’m overjoyed to have the privilege to work with her again.

Another friendly face from Luigi’s is Len Schlientz, who played the silent Jeremy, and sat in the corner having wonderfully strange reactions to the food. He was awesome in that small role, and I know will tear it up as Dr. Soros, the world’s single worst OBGYN.

And Darhen White, yet another Luigi’s veteran, will play comedian/cougar Tammy, who tries to sink her teeth into our lead, Danny. When I called Dahren to ask her to accept the role, she asked me if it was type-casting. I initially had a different answer to that, but as I typed this, I accidentally typed that I’d called “Tammy” instead of Dahren – I already see her in the role. :)

Those are our main characters, minus the three top-billed roles, Danny, Stephanie, and father-in-law Jim. I’m going to stretch this out until later this week to reveal them.

Man, do we have a great cast! Let’s get to filming this thing!

And I’d be remiss not to mention our sponsorship opportunities – be a part of our film by supporting it now!

