Home > Cool Links > Showbiz Imagery and Chicanery

Showbiz Imagery and Chicanery

June 7, 2012

Here’s a cool site I just found. It’s a site with old ads and photos and info about celebrities and shows. Strangely fascinating.

Scroll down a bit and it includes the list of all the people who hosted the Tonight Show in between when Jack Paar left and when Johnny Carson was finally out of his CBS contract six months later and could take over the show. How cool would it be to see Mort Sahl or Groucho Marx host the Tonight Show?

And is “Chicanery” a racist term? I used to use it because I like the sound of the syllables together, but one day realized it was probably not a flattering term for Chicano people.  Kinda like “Gypping” someone out of something, which was another difficult one to get out of my vocabulary.

  1. Anonymous
    June 10, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    Word derivations and language are always fascinating, especially when further research reveals the movement and history of a certain group of people in a given period of time. It never dawned on me that being ‘gypped’, which I knew meant being swindled or cheated, was a derivation of ‘gypsy’. Information and a new perspective were shared when I read an on-line dictionary’s definition of the word, including readers’ comments following. mjd

    • June 17, 2012 at 10:42 pm

      I’m a big word derivation dork. Not so big that I actually do any real “study” but big enough that I annoy my wife as I’m constantly trying to find out where words come from. She does not share the same curiosity. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
