Home > Joe's Movies! > The Home Stretch!

The Home Stretch!

August 8, 2012

After a long night of shooting (first scene ended about 1 hour after scheduled, but we finished about 1 ½ hours early!), we’re looking at the home stretch. Which is good, because the long night became longer when Emma decided at 3am (after I went to bed at 2am) that she didn’t want to sleep. Turns out that meat-lovers pizza doesn’t agree with a two-year-old’s stomach. She wasn’t crying, she just couldn’t get comfortable and wanted to be held, so Kat and I took turns until we figured out that it was her stomach and got her some gas relief. I think I’m running on about 2 hours sleep.

Today’s is one slightly tricky scene, then a lot of small, pretty simple ones.  Four not-too-tricky scenes on Thursday (though two of them include Emma), then lots of simple small scenes on Friday. Then we’re done shooting at the Dull home– I can’t wait to get my house back (and neither can Emma)!

Saturday is a simple scene on campus (we’re still looking for a few extras there – here’s the link to info for that), and Sunday’s our final day at Stoby’s, who was generous enough to let us use their space. It’s a “two guys in a booth” scene – doesn’t get much easier than that.

Let me say again that what makes all this go so well is my awesome cast. I’ll be working with our four leads for these last few days – Chris Fritzges, Courtney Bennett, Kenn Woodard, F.E. Mosby, and Dahren White. Really, it doesn’t get much better than those guys – they bring so much to each scene, it makes my job easy. So when I say the next few days will be easy, there are actually some pretty tough scenes emotionally for the actors, but I know what they can do, and they’ll be great!

Time to get back to work on prepping for today – we have to make the house look like a Cinco de Mayo party, hide the Christmas tree for later scenes, and trade out the painting in the living room for the Warhol sonogram. Don’t ask.

Turns out doing a film that takes place over nine months is kinda tricky – Kat keeps a database of what time of year everything is, and what changes in the set design from scene to scene, and we’d be lost without that!

