Home > Cool Links > Changing My Mind – More Audio Stuff

Changing My Mind – More Audio Stuff

November 13, 2012

Continuing with more audio stuff – there’s a great blog called “Designing Sound.” They put up a new sound article every day. It’s fairly deep in techspeak, so it’s not for everyone, but it’s a great resource if you’re into sound.

I was emailing with someone about different recorders and we came to talk about the Zoom H4n recorder. I don’t know much about it and went to my go-to opinion, that any recorder with a built-in mic tends to not be great. I may have to revise that opinion. Here’s an article about some video game guys using the H4n to capture ambiences, and how much they love it.

The frequency response on the H4n seems a bit bright (too much of the high pitches) and seems to be at it’s worst in frequencies around the human voice, so I still wouldn’t use it as a primary recorder, but for the price, it seems pretty unbeatable. And those frequency responses aren’t bad, they’re just not great. If I wasn’t sure I’m getting a tablet for Christmas (thanks, honey!), I might ask for one of these to play with.

