Home > Cool Links > I Don’t Get It – I’m Old.

I Don’t Get It – I’m Old.

February 19, 2013

This article says that Jon Favreau’s editor will be doing a rough edit of their next film on an ipad. Does it make me old that I think that sounds like a pretty useless idea? I don’t see the value of being able to edit my film on my couch instead of my desk.

I use my tablet all the time, because it lets me use a computer while I’m doing something else. But it’s just a low-powered computer replacement that’s easier to hold and carry around than my laptop. When I’m editing, I want to concentrate on the film. The tablet doesn’t seem like the best device for this, with its small screen and the need to hold it with at least one hand.

Is this my “you kids will never edit a film on a computer as good as editing on film” moment?

  1. Scott Meador
    February 19, 2013 at 4:01 pm

    The editor is working on developing the actual software (so of course he says that he will be using it on his upcoming projects) and the concept is (from what little I have read about it so far) that the app will treat editing like old guys using film on heavy mechanical hardware rather than kids mousing around on a computer. So it’s kinda your moment in reverse, but cheaper and lighter weight.

    • February 19, 2013 at 8:10 pm

      I actually read the article yesterday, then scanned it again for the post today, and obviously forgot a few things. I’m still not sure what the draw is. The advantage of film (for those who liked it) was primarily that you had to scour through the footage again and again as you looked for the clips you wanted. So you’d constantly be reminded of all the footage as you fast-forwarded and rewinded through the reels. So maybe he’s setting up long reels that you have to sift through…? I’m curious and dubious. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
