Home > Joe's Movies! > Music Stuff

Music Stuff

June 13, 2013

So here’s what I’ve been up to for the last few months: sound, sound, and more sound. My graduate audio class did a good job of getting the basic sounds completed for Sympathy Pains over the last semester, and my sound designer Jason Miller is currently finishing that work up.

I usually like to head up the dialogue editing and ADR myself, and that’s where my head’s been for the last few weeks.

But I thought I’d talk about music: we’re putting together a pretty fantastic score for Sympathy Pains, if I do say so myself. Of course, the majority of the orchestrated score is by Paul Dickinson, my regular composer, and the Conway Symphony Orchestra recorded it about a month ago. I finished the mix about 2 weeks back, and it’s ready to go.

We’ve got a few other songs, including one special arrangement by my mentor from back in my theater performance days, Milton Anderson.It’s a children’s lullaby for the opening titles, but for people who know Milt, it’s not what you’re thinking. Milt writes beautiful, lush vocal arrangements, but this is a little different.  I always forget how funny he is, and the idea he came up with for his piece is AWESOME – I can’t wait to share it with everyone!

But I really wanted to bring some attention to a friend / singer / songwriter: Kurt Hunter.  Here’s his website – you should go there and check out his stuff if you like intelligent, melodic, just-plain-good pop music. Kurt arranged a beautiful version of his song “Distracted” for Table at Luigi’s, and I thought it would be fun to have the original pop version of the song playing in a bar scene in Sympathy Pains. And when we needed a fun up-tempo song to play in the background of another scene, I remembered Kurt’s “Elevators can be Fun” which is about a fun as music gets. You can hear Distracted on the website (a full pop version, and an acoustic one, too), but you’ll have to get “Elevators Can Be Fun” on itunes. It’s worth the 99cents, I promise.

Whenever I need a song for anything, one of the first things I do is check to see if Kurt has anything that might work, because his stuff is so good. Thanks, Kurt! Really – check him out here.

