Home > Cool Links > Without Withoutabox, the Saga Continues

Without Withoutabox, the Saga Continues

February 10, 2014

An email showed up in my inbox this morning, “Invitation to FilmFreeway.” I don’t know why I even looked at it, I tend to ignore the many invites I get, but I glanced at it and realized that it’s the Withoutabox competitor that’s been promised for a while. Here’s my original post about the withoutaboxsucks website and their crusade to get you to know that they don’t like withoutabox. But FilmFreeway seems to be doing something about it. I haven’t dug that deeply yet, but they have 83 festivals signed up, and more than a few good ones. Their fees are cheaper (I assume for both the filmmaker and for the festival), and the website looks like it was designed more recently than 1997.

You might want to check them out. I’m not looking forward to having to look at two websites to find the festivals I’m looking for, but if competition can help spur withoutabox to have a reliable search engine and a more streamlined site, I’m all for it.

And it looks like there are a few festivals that are listed on both sites, so it might be worth switching over, eventually. I’m curious to see how this all ends up.

 

